A unified license for free documentation?

Or at least compatible licenses? And to prohibit CC-*-NC-* for any kind of documentation!

I started with announcing existence of Wiki World on the lists of different communities. People who are subscribed to the foundation-l list already know for the whole idea, because the idea was grown there.

By accident, it was firstly announced on textbook-l list (a Wikibooks list). I wanted to send it to the cc-community list (just because I had something to say and it was the first on my mind 🙂 ), but I forgot what of my email addresses is subscribed there (so I had to subscribe again after a two bounced emails).

I wanted to make two points about why the community from Wikibooks should be interested in joining the Wiki World list: (1) Some of them are making Wiki science wikibook. It is very related to the goals of the Wiki World list. (2) There are similar projects on the net, like wikiHow is.

So, I sent them an email with those two points.

After sending an email, I saw that wikiHow is under some CC license. And then I started to write this post assuming that wikiHow is probably licensed under CC-BY-SA. (The rest of the NC story you may read in my next post.)

The first idea which was on my mind was how to unify efforts of two projects which have two different and incompatible free documentation licenses.

This means that we need a wide effort for making licenses compatible, at least. I am not a lawyer and the most of people who are using free documentation licenses are not lawyers. I just want to use one of those licenses to be sure that my work will stay free. And if someone other’s work is also free, I want to be able to incorporate her/his work and I want that s/he is able to incorporate my work, too.

This is an open issue which may not be solved here, but in FSF, CC and other relevant places. However, all of us have responsibility to ask and ask those organizations when would we be able to share our knowledge and don’t worry about (in)compatibility of the licenses.

~ by millosh on August 30, 2007.

2 Responses to “A unified license for free documentation?”

  1. […] Why CC-NC should be prohibited I started with announcing existence of Wiki World on the lists of different communities. People who are subscribed to the foundation-l list already know for the whole idea, because the idea was grown there. (The rest of the introduction you may read inside of my previous post.) […]

  2. […] Unified documentation license or compatible licenses. While it is possible to live without that, there will be a lot of problems because contributors would like to copy documentation from one wiki storage to another. This is the fourth text in the series Wikimedian age. Texts from this series are: […]

Comments are closed.

 
