Contributing to Wikipedia, part 2

I have to say that I am really surprised about the articles which didn’t and don’t exist on (English) Wikipedia:

  • A couple of days ago article about GM-NAA I/O was created. It was the first operating system.
  • LUNA was a product line of Japanese company OMRON and NetBSD has a port for this hardware (OpenBSD and Linux are supporting 68k, too). Yesterday I created the article.
  • Today I created the article about Motorola Single Board Computers. This product line exists since 1988 and it is the basic component of a lot of embedded hardware. NetBSD has a port for this hardware, as well as Linux and OpenBSD support it.

I am giving those examples because it is from the well described field. The situation is much worst when we drive out of such fields:

  • Article First order kinetics which I mentioned as a joke inside of the document Everything You Always Wanted to Know About Wikipedia still doesn’t exist.
  • I remember that when I wanted to show to students of physical chemistry how English Wikipedia is well covered by different scopes of articles — we realized that some basic concepts of physical chemistry don’t exist. (And we wrote one article, but I forgot its name.)
  • Coverage of languages is so bad that I don’t know where to start.
  • And I am sure that it is possible to find a number of the similar covered fields.

I am not trying to say that Wikipedia is a bad encyclopedia, of course. It is the best encyclopedia I ever saw. And this shortage means that we need some kind of structural effort for improving Wikipedia.

  • Is it possible to make a Wikimedia wide body which would take care about needed articles, books etc.?
  • Is it possible to make some marketing effort to ask every Wikimedian for help in making such articles and/or to find people who are able to make such articles?
  • Do you have some other idea?
~ by millosh on September 10, 2007.

 
