Aggregated aggregators

Planet Wikimedia and Open Wiki Blog Planet aggregators are similar, but not the same. Because of that I wrote a simple program (download) to aggregate both of them. Script may aggregate more aggregators and if you find some interesting wiki-related blog aggregator, please let me know.

Now you may replace both feeds with this one: http://tools.wikimedia.de/~millosh/agags/atom.xml.

Update: If you want to run this script on your computer (or anywhere else), download version 1.1. Version 1.0 has some problems in parsing <entry> tags. Soon, I’ll add it on my SourceForge project page.

~ by millosh on October 1, 2007.

4 Responses to “Aggregated aggregators”

  1. Hehehe… evil genius! >:D

  2. Thanks! 🙂

    But, I don’t think that it is evil. (1) This is only a feed (not a website), (2) different aggregators have different functions and (3) this piece of software is not able to aggregate particular blogs.

    Of course, the third function may be added, but I am not interested in it. The only reason why did I do that is a frustration of reading a lot of same posts while searching for some new.

    I want to give more references to original aggregators inside of the feeds, but there is not a lot of space for that (the only “clear” space is at the title of the feed). I’ll try to find a way for doing so.

  3. I have subscribed for the time being, but I had two requests based on how the content is rendered in my newsfeed reader (rawdog). Presently, and entry appears as:

    [[
    Mac v Linux [Aggregated aggregators: Planet Wikimedia, Open Wiki Blog Planet]
    I first switched to the Mac …
    ]]

    1. Shorten your title, the text that appears within the single brackets above. “Aggregated aggregators: Planet Wikimedia, Open Wiki Blog Planet” is way too verbose as a source for every single entry.
    2. I don’t know if this is possible, but I would love it if Planet aggregators could actually indicate the original source of the story. So instead of the above, they would say:

    [[
    Mac v Linux [“leuksman” from Aggregated aggregators]
    I first switched to the Mac …
    ]]

  4. – Title may be shorter (I’ll move into the author field “author via Planet”).

    – What reader do you use? Maybe I may play with its configuration…

    – What is written at the same field on Planet Wikimedia and Open Wiki Blog Planet? Configuration of your reader puts between brackets aggregator title, without anything else. Actually, agags file looks the same as Planet’s files.

    My reader (Google Reader) reads:

    [[
    Mac v Linux
    by leuksman
    I first switched to the Mac …
    ]]

    So, I may add “by leuksman via Planet Wikimedia”.

Comments are closed.

 
